The current Management Committee Members of the Samford Support Network are:

Barbara Kienast – President

Barbara is the founder of Samford Support Network. She is an incredibly hardworking person, balancing all her amazing community support work with her family and a very challenging job in project management of early medical research.

She is our networking person, liaising with all the wide-ranging organisations that the SSN deals with. Barbara also provides the essential first point of contact to the SSN for our clients, never hesitating to organise and come to the aid of people who are struggling.

Barbara was the well-deserved recipient of the Samford Community Award in 2017 and finalist in the 2019 Australian of the Year Awards for the Queensland Local Hero Award.

Barbara is also the founder and president of Support Networks Australia.

Sasha Tranberg – Secretary

Sasha is the kind and compassionate Secretary for Samford Support Network. She grew up in Redcliffe and lived in Brisbane for many years before moving to the Samford area with her husband in 2012.

Sasha has a background in procurement, which lead to her conducting tenders, managing contracts and delivering training.  In addition to her strong administrative, training and governance skills, Sasha brings her passion to grow the Samford Support Network, leveraging her experience as a volunteer since 2018.

Sasha was also the Secretary of Support Networks Australia.

Steve Parry – Treasurer

Steve Joined the SSN  in 2017 as Treasurer, where he manages the finances and the IT systems for the SSN. Steve undertakes the development, documenting and refining of our many processes and procedures, and as our IT Coordinator, is the developer of the multiple IT systems and web based services for the many community, Client and Member interactions with the SSN, which has contributed to the Samford Support Network business systems becoming more professional and resilient.

Steve was also the recipient of the 2014 Samford Community Award and a National Medal for 25 years volunteer emergency services work. Steve is a retired IT consultant, happily married with two daughters and four grandchildren who all live in the Samford area.    

Steve is also a foundation Team Member and Treasurer of Support Networks Australia.

Keria Newman – Committee Member

Keria has been a volunteer with the Samford Support Network since October 2015 as a member of the Food Transport team. Since 2018 Keria has also been the coordinator of Xmas and Easter hampers with her small team.

In early 2019 Keria became the Food Transport Coordinator, and joined the Management Committee in October 2019.

Keria and her family have lived in the Samford community for 20 years and she has been involved with teaching many local children as an early childhood teacher. Keria is passionate about her local community.

Mercedes Cameron – Committee Member

Joining the Management Committee in July 2020, Mercedes has been a volunteer with the Samford Support Network since December 2018 as a member of the Food Transport team and helping our community members on a number of other projects. Many of you will have met her at our regular members meetings. 

Mercedes and her family are originally from Canada and she worked as a registered nurse before moving into project management in the health industry.

Past Management Committee Members

We are very grateful for the contribution, dedication and service of our previous Management Committee members.

  • Kris Martin, Secretary 2018 – 2020.
  • Marilyn McIntyre, Management Committee Member. 2015 – 2020
  • Karen Reid , Management Committee Member. 2016 – 2019
  • Jasmine Hayes, Secretary. 2014 – 2017
  • Anne Gilbey, Secretary. 2017 – 2018
  • Liz Martin-Johns, Treasurer. 2014 – 2017